top of page

8882, sunscreens unlike any other!

"Years ago, back when I was still at my last laboratory, I was manufacturing sunscreens for wearing at sea and all was well. But then one day, in 1969, when I was gearing up for my first experience on powder, I decided to take advantage of my trip to present my products to the ski resorts’ pharmacies. It was such an almighty blow! Physicians and pharmacists alike told me about their problems with sun protection in the mountains: sunburn and allergies were rife. No product provided effective protection against sunshine at high altitude. Resort professionals had found a solution by applying an ointment made from fats and zinc oxide for protection, but it was thick and unsightly. An effective alternative had to be found not only for holidaymakers but also for our athletes who came to train. That’s when I decided to take up the challenge and 8882 was born." Micheline Bosserelle – Founder of 8882

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What makes 8882 products technically advanced?

8882 was thus developed at the outset together with a scientist, a student of a leading physicist, whose work particularly studied the problems of polarisation of photonic and ultrasonic waves.

The first sun-exposure tests were performed at more than 3,000 metres above sea level, on the Aiguille du Midi, then checked again on the Pic du Midi for the purity of its air.

It was then possible to reproduce the data under laboratory conditions. 

Two blocking complexes were subsequently developed, one for use at medium altitudes and the other at very high altitudes. For in the mountains, radiation and its intensity vary depending on the altitude.

8882 products thus constituted the first range to offer very high sun protection in the mountains, owing to their technical characteristics.

 

This tremendously rewarding venture was shared with the pharmacists in our ski resorts, who have become friends through their willingness to share the developments in the results obtained with their friends and ski instructors.

8882 is also their achievement.

This inspiring accomplishment was also shared with the champion mountaineers who were scaling the highest Himalayan summits at the time – among them Wanda Rutkiewicz, Eric Escoffier, Martine Rolland, as well as Paul-Emile Victor for the Tropics.

 

Developments then came in the form of COLIPA and European standards but, based on our knowledge of solar radiation, 8882 was able to easily adapt to these new requirements whilst staying true to our research and aims.

8882 has continued to lead the way in terms of high-altitude sun protection – not least on the world’s highest peaks – ever since. Most recently, it was the choice for the Franco-Italian team’s expedition to Kanchenjunga, the Chinese Guo Jiaming team’s expedition to Everest’s North Col, Patagonia, as well as for the Sochi 2014, Rio 2016, PyeongChang 2018, Tokyo 2021 and Beijing 2022 Olympics.

The open sea is a vital consideration now too!

Some of the extreme conditions of the mountains can also be encountered out at sea, albeit to a lesser extent.

 

Thanks to its performances, 8882 has been designed not just for use during prolonged sun exposure, i.e. by outdoor professionals and athletes, but also for hypersensitive skin and sun-intolerant skin for medical reasons.

 

To maintain our performances, we pay particular attention to the choice of ingredients in our products:

  • We have eliminated any product suspected of being an endocrine disruptor,

  • Whenever possible, we replace a conventional ingredient with a more natural alternative (preservatives, fragrances, oils, emulsifiers, waterproof agents, etc.),

  • We are also mindful of the environment and marine health and use a maximum of biodegradable ingredients.

  • We do not use individual nanoparticles because of the overly high risk of them passing into the bloodstream.

 

We strive for the highest standards of quality, innovation and performance.

Of course, that all comes with a cost... But our health is priceless!

 

8882, the authentic brand!

Beware that there is a risk of confusion with a new brand, also comprising 4 figures. The presentation and sales pitches of the latter are similar to ours, which may lead to mix-ups for users.

But 8882 has been the authentic brand since 1969!

To avoid any misunderstandings, here is a mnemonic:

8882,

8+8+8+2 = 26,

In the Old Testament, God is evoked by four consonants                                              : a name that is unpronounceable because there are no vowels. Since consonants in Hebrew are also numbers, we get:

10 + 5 + 6 + 5 = 26 --> The Divine Number

 

For the layperson: According to one of the foremost French mathematicians of the 17th century, Pierre de Fermat (famous, in particular, for his discovery of differential calculus), 26 is the only number located between the square number 25 (5 x 5, i.e. a surface) and the cube number 27 (3 x 3 x 3, i.e. a volume).

Is the number 26 a magic key to a 4th dimension?

 

But 26 --> 2+6 = 8

And 8 is also a sacred number!

8, is the number associated with cosmic balance

8, is the number of cardinal and intermediate directions together

8, is the number of points on the compass rose                  

8, is often the number of spokes in a wheel, from the 8-armed sun cross to the wheel of the Buddhist law

8, is the number of lotus petals and right steps in the Noble Path, etc.

             

                                                                                   The infinity                 of the cosmos.

crème solaire alpinisme

©Martin M303|Fotolia

protection solaire alpinisme
DSC01330.jpg

Expédition chinoise au Col Nord de l’Everest (7020 m)

Expédition Franco-italienne au Kanchenjunga (8586 m)

crème solaire voile
Dieu Hébreu.jpg
Infinite.svg.png
bottom of page

top of page

8882, des produits solaires pas comme les autres!

"Il y a bien longtemps, c’était mon laboratoire précédent, je fabriquais à cette époque des produits solaires pour la mer et tout allait bien. Mais un jour, en 1969, alors que j’allais m’initier aux joies de la poudreuse, j’en profitais pour présenter mes produits aux pharmaciens des stations de ski. Ma déception fut énorme ! Médecins et pharmaciens me firent part de leurs problèmes en protection solaire montagne : brûlures solaires et allergies étaient courantes. Aucun produit ne protégeait efficacement du soleil d’altitude. Les professionnels des stations avaient trouvé la parade en s’appliquant un onguent, pâte faite de corps gras et d’oxyde de zinc, pour se protéger mais cela était loin d’être esthétique. Il fallait trouver une solution pour les vacanciers mais également nos athlètes qui venaient s’entraîner. Je décidai alors de relever le défi et l’histoire de 8882 commença." Micheline Bosserelle - fondatrice de 8882

 

Pourquoi les produits 8882 sont des produits techniques?

8882 fut ainsi mis au point au départ en collaboration avec un scientifique, élève d'une sommité en physique, dont les travaux portaient entres autres sur les problèmes de polarisation des ondes photoniques et ultrasonores.

Les premiers tests solaires furent réalisés à plus de 3000 mètres à l'Aiguille du Midi, puis revérifiés au Pic du Midi pour la pureté de son air.

Les données recueillies purent ensuite être reproduites en laboratoire. 

Deux complexes filtrants furent ainsi mis au point, l’un pour les moyennes altitudes et l’autre pour les très hautes altitudes. En effet, en montagne, les radiations et leurs intensités varient selon les altitudes.

Les produits 8882 furent ainsi la première gamme de très haute protection solaire montagne de par leur technicité.

 

Ce fut une grande et belle histoire partagée avec nos pharmaciens des stations de ski, devenus des amis, qui nous ont tellement aidés en partageant l’avancée des résultats constatés sur leurs amis et les moniteurs.

8882 est donc aussi leur bébé.

Cette belle histoire fut également partagée par les championnes et champions des plus hauts sommets Himalayens de l'époque. Nous pouvons citer Wanda Rutkiewicz, Eric Escoffier, Martine Rolland et, également pour les Tropiques, Paul-Emile Victor.


 

Ensuite, il y a eu l'évolution: le COLIPA, les normes européennes, mais partant de nos connaissances sur le rayonnement solaire, 8882 a pu facilement s'adapter à ces nouvelles contraintes tout en restant au plus près de nos travaux.

Depuis, 8882 est resté au top de la protection solaire en haute montagne, notamment sur les plus hauts sommets. Pour ne citer que les plus récents : équipe Franco-Italienne au Kanchenjunga, équipe chinoise de Guo Jiaming au col nord de l’Everest, Patagonie, mais aussi Sotchi 2014, Rio 2016, Pyeongchang 2018, Tokyo 2021 et Pékin 2022.

Désormais la haute mer nous rattrape !

En haute mer, certaines des conditions drastiques de la montagne se retrouvent aussi mais en moindre intensité.

De par ses performances, 8882 s’adresse bien entendu aux sujets surexposés, sportifs, professions de plein air, aux peaux hyper-sensibles mais aussi aux peaux interdites de soleil pour des raisons médicales.

 

 

Pour garder nos performances, nous sommes particulièrement attentifs au choix des composants de nos produits :

  • Nous avons éliminé tout produit suspecté d'être perturbateur endocrinien,

  • Nous remplaçons, chaque fois que cela est possible, des composants classiques par des composants naturels (conservateurs, parfums, huiles, émulsionnants, agents waterproof...),

  • Nous sommes également soucieux de l'environnement et du milieu marin et utilisons un maximum de composants biodégradables.

  • Nous n'utilisons pas de nanoparticules isolées compte tenu du trop grand risque de passage dans la voie sanguine.

 

Notre exigence: qualité, innovation, performance.

Bien sûr, cela a un coût... Mais la santé n'a pas de prix! 

 

8882, l’authentique !

Attention, une confusion est possible avec une nouvelle marque également à 4 chiffres. La présentation et l'argumentation de cette dernière sont proches de la nôtre, pouvant de ce fait créer un quiproquo pour l’utilisateur.

Mais 8882, c’est l’authentique depuis 1969!

Pour éviter toute méprise, une astuce mnémotechnique :

8882,

8+8+8+2 = 26,

Dans l’ancien testament, Dieu est évoqué par quatre consonnes                             : nom imprononçable à cause de l’absence de voyelles. Les consonnes en hébreu étant également des nombres, on obtient ainsi :

10 + 5 + 6 + 5 = 26  --> C'est le Nombre Divin

 

Pour le profane: Selon l'un des plus grands mathématiciens Français du XVIIème siècle Pierre de Fermat, célèbre notamment pour sa découverte du calcul différentiel, 26 est le seul nombre situé entre le nombre carré 25 (5 x 5, soit une surface) et le nombre cubique 27 (3 x 3 x 3, soit un volume).

Le nombre 26 permettrait-il de passer vers une 4ème dimension?

 

Mais 26 --> 2+6 = 8

Or, 8 est également un chiffre sacré !

8, c’est le nombre de l’équilibre cosmique

8, c’est le nombre des directions cardinales auxquelles s’ajoutent les directions intermédiaires

8, c’est le nombre de la rose des vents

8, c’est souvent le nombre de rayons de la roue, de la rouelle celtique à la roue de la loi bouddhique

8, c’est le nombre de pétales du lotus et des sentiers de la voie etc…

L'infini                           cosmique.

crème solaire alpinisme

©Martin M303|Fotolia

protection solaire alpinisme
DSC01330.jpg

Expédition chinoise au Col Nord de l’Everest (7020 m)

Expédition Franco-italienne au Kanchenjunga (8586 m)

crème solaire voile
Dieu Hébreu.jpg
Infinite.svg.png
bottom of page